Department of Integrated Environmental Policy Analysis

PBL’s Department of Integrated Environmental Policy Analysis (IBL) focuses on policy analyses and assessments on the four strategic themes of Climate change and energy transition, Circular economy, Food, agriculture and nature in transformation, and Urban and regional development.

A wide range of quantitative and qualitative methods are developed and applied at this department, including participatory assessments, economic modelling, scenario development and cost-benefit analyses (CBAs). The fields of environment, economy and society are brought together in the integrated approach as well as in outlook studies on Welfare and the Sustainable Development Goals.

In order to safeguard the quality and reliability of its analyses, PBL is continually working on the quality of the data, models and methods used. The IBL Department contributes to this with its expertise in the fields of data science, computational modelling and visualisation.


You can reach the Department of Integrated Environmental Policy Analysis by:


Marian Abels-van Overveld

Graphics Editor
Passport photo of Marian Abels-van Overveld

Bart Ariaans

Bas Arts

Chief Scientist
Passport photo of Bas Arts

Aldrik Bakema

Deputy Head of Department
Passport photo of Aldrik Bakema

Arthur Beusen

Senior Researcher
Passport photo of Arthur Beusen

Filip de Blois

Graphics Editor
Passport photo of Filip de Blois

Daniëlle Borgmeijer

Jetske Bouma

Senior Researcher Environmental economist
Passport photo of Jetske Bouma

Corjan Brink

Researcher Environmental Economics
Passport photo of Corjan Brink

Sander de Bruyn

Passport photo of Sander de Bruyn

Jos Diederiks

Passport photo of Jos Diederiks

Alexandros Dimitropoulos

Researcher Scientific researcher
Passport photo of Alexandros Dimitropoulos

Olav-Jan van Gerwen

Deputy Head of Department
Passport photo of Olav-Jan van Gerwen

Sabine de Haes

Passport photo of Sabine de Haes

Aldert Hanemaaijer

Senior Researcher Projectleader Integral Circular Economy Report NL
Passport photo of Aldert Hanemaaijer

Bert Hof

Researcher Program leader Social Cost-Benefit Analysis (SCBA)
Passport photo of Bert Hof

Maikel Kishna

Passport photo of Maikel Kishna

Julia Koch

Passport photo of Julia Koch

Sonja Kruitwagen

Passport photo of Sonja Kruitwagen

Eva Kunseler

Passport photo of Eva Kunseler

Xinyu Li

Passport photo of Xinyu Li

Paul Lucas

Researcher Sustainable development and international climate policy
Passport photo of Paul Lucas

Astrid Mangnus

Passport photo of Astrid Mangnus

Astrid Martens

Passport photo of Astrid Martens

Sido Mylius

Senior Researcher advisor Methodology and Modelling Techniques
Passport photo of Sido Mylius

Raymond de Niet

Passport photo of Raymond de Niet

Durk Nijdam

Research Assistant
Passport photo of Durk Nijdam

Nico Pieterse

Jarry Porsius

Passport photo of Jarry Porsius

Anne Gerdien Prins

Passport photo of Anne Gerdien Prins

Melchert Reudink

Bart Rietveld

Information Manager

Trudy Rood

Passport photo of Trudy Rood

Jan de Ruiter

Graphics Editor
Passport photo of Jan de Ruiter

Kees Schotten


Johan van der Schuit

Passport photo of Johan van der Schuit

Mariësse van Sluisveld

Researcher Long-term decarbonisation pathways
Passport photo of Mariësse van Sluisveld

Bert Tieben

Stefan Troost

Passport photo of Stefan Troost

Daan in 't Veld

Researcher Circular economy
Pasfoto van Daan in 't Veld

Lisa Verwoerd

Passport photo of Lisa Verwoerd

Herman Vollebergh

Passport photo of Herman Vollebergh

Rick de Vries

Research Assistant energy transition on the local level
Passport photo of Rick de Vries

Kees Vringer

Passport photo of Kees Vringer

Allard Warrink

Graphics Editor
Passport photo of Allard Warrink

Edwin van der Werf

Passport photo of Edwin van der Werf

Harry Wilting

Passport photo of Harry Wilting

Rob Zwitserlood